Brough's Books - Hugo Awards

Hugo Awards

Best Science Fiction Books of the Year
Home > Literature > Hugo Awards

The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society. Here's a list of all the Hugo-winning novels since 1953.

Best Novel: American Gods by Neil Gaiman
Best Novella: "Fast Times at Fairmont High" by Jack Williamson
Best Novelette: "Hell Is the Absence of God" by Ted Chiant
Best Short Story: "The Dog Said Bow-Wow" by Michael Swanwick
Best Related Book: The Art of Chesley Bonestell by Ron Miller and Frederick C. Durant III with Melvin H. Schuetz

Best Novel: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling
Best Related Book: Greetings from Earth: The Art of Bob Eggleton by Bob Eggleton and Nigel Suckling
Best Novella: "The Ultimate Earth" by Jack Williamson
Best Novelette: "Millennium Babies" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Best Short Story: "Different Kinds of Darkness" by David Langford
Best Novel Winners, 1953-2000

2000 A Deepness in the Sky by Vernor Vinge 
1999 To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
1998 Forever Peace by Joe Haldeman
1997 Blue Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1996 The Diamond Age by Neal Stephenson
1995 Mirror Dance by Lois McMaster Bujold
1994 Green Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson
1993 A Fire upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge and Doomsday Book by Connie Willis
1992 Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold
1991 The Vor Game by Lois McMaster Bujold
1990 Hyperion by Dan Simmons
1989 Cyteen by C.J. Cherryh
1988 The Uplift War by David Brin
1987 Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card
1986 Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card
1985 Neuromancer by William Gibson
1984 Startide Rising by David Brin
1983 Foundation's Edge by Isaac Asimov
1982 Downbelow Station by C.J. Cherryh
1981 The Snow Queen by Joan D. Vinge 
1980 The Fountains of Paradise by Arthur C. Clarke 
1979 Dreamsnake by Vonda N. McIntyre 
1978 Gateway by Frederik Pohl
1977 Where Late the Sweet Birds Sang by Kate Wilhelm
1976 The Forever War by Joe Haldeman
1975 The Dispossessed: An Ambiguous Utopia by Ursula K. Le Guin
1974 Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke 
1973 The Gods Themselves by Isaac Asimov
1972 To Your Scattered Bodies Go by Philip Jose Farmer
1971 Ringworld by Larry Niven
1970 The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
1969 Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner
1968 Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny
1967 The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein
1966 ... And Call Me Conrad by Roger Zelazny and Dune by Frank Herbert
1965 The Wanderer by Fritz Leiber
1964 Way Station by Clifford D. Simak
1963 The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick
1962 Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert A. Heinlein
1961 A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller
1960 Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein
1959 A Case of Conscience by James Blish
1958 The Big Time by Fritz Leiber
1957 No award. 
1956 Double Star by Robert A. Heinlein
1955 They'd Rather Be Right by Mark Clifton (currently sold as The Forever Machine
1954 No award. 
1953 The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester

Copyright © 1997-2023